Wednesday date for Leeds United cup tie

Brian McDermott, who will be involved in his first cup tie with Leeds United when they take on Chesterfield.
Brian McDermott, who will be involved in his first cup tie with Leeds United when they take on Chesterfield.
0
Have your say

Leeds United’s first round Capital One Cup tie at home to Chesterfield has been confirmed for Wednesday, August 7 with a 7.45pm kick-off.

Reduced prices will apply for a tie that will have a finish on the night with tickets available for £12 adults and £6 concessions.

Tickets went on sale to United season ticket Holders and members today with season ticket holders seats in the open stands reserved until close of business on Monday, July 8. The general sale starts on Tuesday, July 9.

It will be Chesterfield’s first visit to Elland Road since 1950 and will be both clubs’ second fixture of the new season after beginning their league campaigns the previous weekend.

Leeds, meanwhile, have confirmed their opponents for their pre-season stay in Slovenia with Hungarian side Ferencvaros due to provide the opposition in the final match.

United’s first game on the trip will be against a Slovenian XI on Wednesday, July 10 at the Fazanerija City Stadium, they will then face FC Domzale at the Domzale Sports Park on Saturday, July 13 and will end the trip against Ferencvaros at the Fazanerija City Stadium on Tuesday, July 16.

The Ferencvaros match will bring back memories for older United fans as they were the opponents in 1968 when the club won their first European trophy, the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup.

Other pre-season matches confirmed are away to Farsley AFC on Saturday, July 6 (3pm), Walsall on Saturday, July 20 (3pm) and Stevenage on Tuesday, July 23 (7.45pm) before the one home game against FC Nurnberg on Saturday, July 27 (3pm).