Teachers’ strike - more than 50 schools will be disrupted across Wakefield district

Hundreds of teachers across the district will be taking part in strike action tomorrow in a protest over pay, pensions and working conditions.

Monday, 30th September 2013, 4:30 pm

A total of 39 schools have confirmed they will be closed, another 16 are planning to partially close and some are set to make the decision tomorrow (Tuesday).

The industrial action has been organised by The National Union of Teachers (NUT) and National Association of Schoolmasters Union of Women Teachers (NASUWT). Between them the Unions membership includes more than 85 per cent of teachers across the district.

Wakefield and District NUT branch secretary Sally Kincaid said: “Teachers are striking not just to defend their pay, conditions and pensions, because they want all children and young people in our schools to be in a happy, creative, learning environment, The Secretary of State for Education Michael Gove is constantly undermining the education system: reducing the number of staff required to work in a nursery, pushing in new curriculum without any research or resources and against the advice of teachers and education academics, removing the requirement for teachers to be qualified to teach. Teachers would welcome support from parents. carers and pupils as well as anyone else who cares about the education of our youngsters.”

Sign up to our daily Wakefield Express Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The dispute centres on changes to public sector workers’ pensions which will see teachers work longer, pay in more and get less and also on planned changes to the way teachers are paid.

And unions object to plans to scrap national pay agreements, remove pay rises based on length of service and introduce performance-related pay.

Union leaders also say teachers are angry at the way the profession is being treated by Education Secretary Michael Gove.

But a Department for Education spokesman said: “All strikes will do is disrupt parents’ lives, hold back children’s education and damage the reputation of the profession.”

The following schools will be closed because of strike action:

Ackton Pastures Primary School

Ackworth Howard Church of England Voluntary Controlled Junior and Infant School

All Saints Featherstone CofE (VA) Junior Infant and Nursery School

Ash Grove Junior and Infant School

Badsworth Church of England Voluntary Controlled Junior and Infant School

Castleford Airedale Junior School

Castleford Oyster Park Primary School

Castleford Redhill Infant School

Castleford Wheldon Infant School and Nursery

Castle Grove Infant School

Crigglestone Mackie Hill Junior and Infant School

Crofton Academy

Crofton Junior School

English Martyrs Catholic Primary School

Featherstone North Featherstone Junior and Infant School

Featherstone Purston Infant School

Featherstone Streethouse Junior Infant and Nursery anda Resources for Pupils with Physical Difficulties

Highfield School

Holy Family and St Michaels Catholic Primary School, Pontefract

Horbury Academy

Horbury Primary School

Knottingley England Lane Junior and Infant School

Lawefield Primary School

Newlands Primary School

Oakfield Park School, Ackworth

Pinderfields Hospital PRU

Pinders Primary (JIN) School

Sandal Endowed Church of England Voluntary Aided Junior School

Middlestown Junior and Infant School

Smawthorne Henry Moore Primary School, Castleford

Snapethorpe Primary School

South Elmsall Carlton Junior and Infant School

Stockingate Mill Junior School

St Johns Church of England Voluntary Aided Junior and Infant School

St Thomas a Becket School

St Wilfrids Catholic High School

The Castle Childrens Centre (and Nursery School)

The Priory Centre

Upton Primary School

The following schools have partial closures in place:

Castleford Townville Infants School

City Academy - closed for years 8, 9 and 10, open for year 7 and open from 11:05am for year 11

Crigglestone Dane Royd Junior and Infant School

Dimple Well Infant School and Nursery

Freeston Academy - closed for years 7, 8 9 and 10

Hemsworth Grove Lea Primary School

Kettlethorpe High School - closed except for year 11

Kingsland Primary School

Northfield Primary School: with Autism Resource

Ossett Academy - closed for years 7, 8, 9 and 10

Osset South Parade Primary

Stanley St Peters Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School

St Marys Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School

The Springfield Centre

Wakefield Hendal Primary School

Woodkirk Academy - closed to years 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 but sixth form is open as usual