Deadline looms for Wakefield Business Awards nominations

Wakefield Business Awards 2017
Wakefield Business Awards 2017

Wakefield has one of the fastest growing economies in the country and is becoming one of the best places to do business.

A study released earlier this year put the city as the 10th fastest growing in the UK and figures showed that from the third quarter of last year it is worth a total of £6.5bn.

And it is now time to celebrate the best we have in business that is helping Wakefield become world class.

The Express is opening the nominations for this year’s Wakefield Business awards to recognise the leading lights in the city’s enterprise.

Now in its 8th year, the awards will celebrate the district’s entrepreneurial spirit as well as incorporating new categories combining the success of a wider range of businesses.

From the best in customer service to the most exciting new business, from the most innovative independent business to the most inspiring individual and the best places to eat, the awards highlight them all.

BBC Look North presenter Harry Gration will host the ceremony, which will be held at Unity Works on Thursday, June 21.

Express editor John Kenealy said: “This is a fantastic opportunity to showcase the brightest and best businesses in Wakefield.

“With its economy on the rise and the awards growing year-on-year there’s no better time to stand up and be counted as part of the Wakefield business community.”

Last year’s Business of the Year was OE Electrics Limited, with Airedale Computers claiming the People’s Choice Award, and the Lifetime Achievement Award won by Richard Donner of Double Two.

Organised by the Wakefield Express, the awards help to raise the profile of businesses in the city, giving them a platform to showcase their work and offer an insight as to why Wakefield’s business community is booming.

If you’ve got a trailblazing business, or know of one, you can nominate a person or company, or your own enterprise, at

Please be clear to mark it for Wakefield Business Awards 2018, category and give your reasons why your operation, however big or small deserves to be a winner.

The deadline for nominations is April 24.

To sponsor a category contact

The categories are as follows:

International Business of the Year, sponsored by HSBC, will go to a company that can demonstrate success in penetrating overseas markets, promoting the reputation of the Wakefield district to a worldwide audience in the process.

For the Restaurant of the Year we are looking for one quality – a restaurant that aspires to excellence in everything it does.

For the Bar of the Year award are looking for a venue that best encapsulates the personality of Wakefield, somewhere vibrant and confident enough to reflect the city it serves.

For the Customer Service Award, sponsored by Trinity Walk, we are looking to reward those businesses that place customer service at the top of their list of priorities. Entries can include a team of people or an individual.

The Employee of the Year award will go to the unsung heroes who go that extra mile for their company, clients or colleagues.

The Small to Medium Sized Business of the Year will be handed to a nominee with turnover of less than £5m and fewer than 50 employees, which demonstrates significant growth in its sector.

Our Entrepreneur of the Year, sponsored by Leeds Beckett, will be someone who turned a bright business idea into revenue-generating reality.

The Business of the Year accolade-winner will be an outstanding business that demonstrates excellence and achievement in all areas

The Business Person of the Year award will go to an outstanding business that demonstrates all-round excellence and achievement. The winning company must have delivered success, innovation and ethics within its sector, proving it is a market leader and worthy winner of this prestigious title.

The Independent Retailer Award recognises the best independent retail store in Wakefield, taking into account financial performance, excellent product knowledge and great customer service.

A Lifetime Achievement Award and People’s Choice will also be presented on the night but are not open to entries.