Election results are announced

Latest news...
Latest news...

All the Wakefield Council election results have now been declared.

Labour have 54 seats (up 2), Conservatives have 6 seats (down 5), UKIP have 2 seats (plus 2) and an independent candidate has gained one seat.

21 seats were contested this election, here is the full breakdown of the results:

Coun Elaine Blezard (Labour) held onto her Normanton seat.

Coun Dick Taylor (Labour) held onto his Featherstone seat.

Coun Clive Tennant (Labour) held onto Pontefract North,

Harry Ellis (Labour) held on to the Knottingley ward.

Nadeem Ahmed held Wakefield South for Conservatives.

Labour gained Wakefield Rural from Conservatives, with Kevin Barker taking the seat.

George Ayre, for Labour, gained Pontefract South from Conservative Leader Geoff Walsh.

Wilf Benson (Independent) gained South Elmsall and South Kirkby from Labour.

Coun Denise Jeffrey retains Castleford Central and Glasshoughton for Labour.

Jacquie Speight (Labour) was elected for Altofts and Whitwood.

Coun Sandra Pickin held Hemsworth for Labour.

Albert Manifield (Labour) retained Crofton, Ryhill and Walton.

Kathryn Scott (Labour) was elected in Airedale and Ferry Fryston.

Allan Garbutt (Labour) held Ackworth, North Elmsall and Upton.

Jacqui Williams (Labour) held Stanley and Outwood East.

Janet Holmes (Labour) held Horbury and South Ossett.

Olivia Rowley (Labour) held Wakefield East.

Wakefield North was held by Tracey Austin (Labour).

Kevin Swift (Labour) gained Wakefield West from Conservatives.

David Dews (UKIP) gained Wrenthorpe and Outwood West from Conservatives.

Nick Farmer (UKIP) gained Ossett from Conservatives.

There was a 30.17 per cent turn out.

For all election coverage follow the #wakeyelections hashtag.

Keep checking our website for updates.