Tour de Yorkshire route through Wakefield announced

Tour de Yorkshire
Tour de Yorkshire

The route of the first Tour de Yorkshire cycle race has been announced.

The world’s top cyclists will start the third stage of the event in Wakefield on Sunday, May 3.

They will take part in a ceremonial start in Northgate and outside Wakefield Cathedral before the official start at 12.30pm at the junction of Agbrigg Road and Barnsley Road (A61).

The race will officially start at 12.30pm.

Riders will pass through the following areas:

Sandal 12.31pm

Newmillerdam 12.35pm

Barnsley (A61-LRD-A635-LRD-A635) 12.42pm

Barugh Green 12.54pm

Cawthorne 12.59pm

Lower Denby (A635-LRD-A635) 1.07pm

Denby Dale 1.09pm

Upper Cumberworth 1.11pm

Holmfirth 1.24pm

Meltham 1.31pm

Slaithwaite 1.45pm

Ripponden 2.13pm

Hebden Bridge 2.42pm

Oxenhope 2.56pm

Leeds 4.34pm