Recognised for fighting crime

Chief Supt Andy Battle with Special Constable Brian Walshaw
Chief Supt Andy Battle with Special Constable Brian Walshaw
Share this article

A TEENAGER who helped to sniff out drugs in College Grove was among the winners at the annual Wakefield District Police Awards.

Brave and courageous officers, volunteers and members of the public were recognised by Chief Superintendent Andy Battle, the city’s divisional commander, at a special ceremony.

He said: “As police officers we are rightly expected to set and perform at high standards but these awards are a welcome opportunity to recognise those who go that one level further to truly go beyond the call of duty.

“In several of these awards officers and staff have put themselves in danger to fight crime or save lives and this sort of dedication is in the best traditions of policing.

“These remain tough times for all of us, but officers in Wakefield remain committed to providing the level of policing residents have the right to expect and are clearly continuing to see on our streets.”

Young Explorer Jake Alleston, 19, was helping officers from the Central neighbourhood police team (NPT) conduct a community when he spotted two men acting suspiciously. He alerted officers who promptly stopped the men and found they were carrying drugs.

PC Chris Schofield, of the Central NPT, was given an award after he helped a 91-year-old Serbian man who had been the victim of anti-social behaviour.

Special Constable Brian Walshaw won an award for his dedication to a roads operation which led to a string of arrests in February.

And a team of detectives and officers including DC David Watts, DC Andrew Hicks, DC Bryn Hampshire, DC Paul Cockerham, PC Donna Moss, PC Stephen Littlewood, PC Colin Starford and PC Garry McMaster were given an award for catching a gang behind four street robberies in Eastmoor.

Awards were also presented to PC Paul Gough, PC Abudakar Saddique, PC Ian Wilby, PC Gavin Pearson, PC Karen Stanton, PC Steven Lawson, Tim Robinson, PC Sean Dawson, DC Elkie Cook, PC Helen Priestley, Corrine Holmes, PC Richard Baker, PC Amanda Blunt and John Scarr from Wakefield District Housing, PC Lindsey Brants, PC Darrel Cameron, PC Helen Hardcastle, PCSO Paul Guest, PCSO Jane McMillan, PCSO Martin Denison and PC Alan Hosker.