Wakefield Council Election: Full results

Ballot box
Ballot box

THE full results are now in from yesterday’s local elections.

- Conservative’s Ian Sanders has won the Wakefield Rural ward

- Bill Sanders, Conservative, has held Wakefield West

- Pat Garbutt retains Pontefract North for Labour

- Tony Dean takes Pontefract South for Labour

- Steve Tulley takes South Elmsall and South Kirkby for Labour

- Labour holds on to Knottingley with current councillor Glenn Burton.

- Labour’s Brian Holmes has won the Horbury and South Ossett seat

- Conservative’s Angela Taylor has taken Ossett, and replaces Elizabeth Knowles, Liberal Democrat, who stood down

- Labour councillor Glyn Lloyd has retained his seat in the Hemsworth ward

- Labour councillor Maureen Cummings has retained her seat in the Crofton, Ryhill and Walton ward

- Conservative councillor Monica Graham has retained Wakefield South

- Labour have won Wrenthorpe and Outwood West with Charlie Keith taking the seat from Richard Hunt

- Labour’s Heather Hudson keeps her seat in Altofts and Whitwood

- Tony Wallis keeps control for Labour in Castleford and Glass Houghton

- Labour candidate Jean Askew takes the seat in the Ackworth, North Elmsall and Upton ward

- Airedale and Ferry Fryston Labour councillor Yvonne Crewe keeps her seat

- Labour candidate Graham Isherwood takes Featherstone

- Labour Coun Ron Halliday retains his seat for Wakefield East

- Labour Coun David Dagger retains his seat for Normanton

- Labour Coun Clive Hudson retains his seat for Stanley and Outwood East

- Labour Coun Margaret Isherwood retains her seat for Wakefield North

See next Friday’s Express for the full story on how this will effect the council make up.