Wakefield honours in New Years list

30th december 2011' David George Brian Francis has been awarded an MBE' 'Picture: MATTHEW PAGE
30th december 2011' David George Brian Francis has been awarded an MBE' 'Picture: MATTHEW PAGE

A COMMUNITY champion and a police chief have been recognised in the New Years Honours list.

David Francis was awarded an MBE for his services to disabled people in Wakefield.

Mr Francis, of Lennox Drive, Lupset, is the chairman of the executive committee at DIAL Wakefield, a charity which gives advice and legal representation to disabled people.

He has also worked for Wakefield’s Citizens Advice Bureau and the Royal British Legion since retiring as a planning officer for Kirklees Council in 1991.

Mr Francis, 73, said: “If people are happy with what I have done then I am very glad. But I am quite surprised to have been awarded this as I am sure other people have done more for disabled people than I have.”

Coun Mark Burns-Williamson has been awarded an OBE.

He has been chairman of West Yorkshire Police Authority for since 2003 and represented the Castleford ward for 12 years.

In 2011 he was elected chairman of the National Association of Police Authorities.

Coun Burns-Williamson said: “It’s a great honour to be recognised in this way.

“I am proud to have served the people of Castleford over the years, just as I am proud to have served on and led the Police Authority.

“The work is extremely challenging – never more so than in the current climate – but very rewarding and I enjoy it immensely.”

Elsewhere cricket umpire Dennis ‘Dickie’ Bird, rugby star James Darryl Peacock and golfers Darren Clarke and Rory Mcilroy were also recognised for their contributions to sport.

Entertainer Ronnie Corbett, television presenter Lorraine Kelly and former Formula 1 driver Nigel Mansell were also among those honoured.