Wakefield Wildcats awarded new three-year Super League licence


WAKEFIELD Wildcats have been awarded a Super League licence by the RFL for the next three seasons.

Richard Lewis, chairman of the RFL, announced the 14 clubs that will form Super League between 2012-14 at Manchester United’s Old Trafford stadium this morning.

And Wildcats have been included, with Welsh club Crusaders announcing their withdrawal from the process and Co-operative Championship side Halifax failing in their bid.

Widnes Vikings had already got the go-ahead to join the top flight in March and the RFL had been considering applications from 15 teams for the remaining 13 places.

Wakefield had been tipped by many as the team to miss out but have got the nod to continue in Super League after being awarded a C-grade licence.

A Grade licences: Leeds Rhinos, Wigan Warriors, Warrington Wolves, Hull FC.

B Grade licences: Bradford Bulls, Catalans Dragons, Huddersfield Giants, Hull KR, St Helens.

C Grade licences: Castleford Tigers, Harlequins, Salford City Reds, Wakefield Wildcats, Widnes Vikings.

More to follow.