Byrne pedals to glory in John May Memorial Road Race

Dillon Byrne
Dillon Byrne

ELITE rider Dillon Byrne led the 68-strong field home to win the 35th annual John May Memorial Road Race last Sunday.

The 10-lap circuit which passed through Sharlston, along Normanton bypass and through Warmfield covered a total distance of more than 68 miles.

Three laps into the race, a decisive move resulted in Byrne and last year’s winner James Sharp, of York Cycleworks, forming part of a breakaway group of five riders, who remained locked together until the closing stages.

Sharp and Byrne went wheel-to-wheel in the final stretch but the Herbalife/Wheelbase rider edged ahead to win.

Read Friday’s Wakefield Express for more on this story.