Nostell MW continue slow start at Armthorpe Welfare

SLOW START: Nostell MW continued their poor start to the season with a 2-1 defeat at Armthorpe Welfare.
SLOW START: Nostell MW continued their poor start to the season with a 2-1 defeat at Armthorpe Welfare.

Nostell MW’s slow start to their Toolsport Northern Counties East League campaign continued on Tuesday night when they lost 2-1 at Armthorpe Welfare.

Two goals in three first-half minutes proved enough for Armthorpe, with Ryan Williams scoring Nostell’s consolation goal eleven minutes from time.

Both teams went into the match looking for their first points of the season after suffering opening day defeats on Saturday

Nostell were boosted by the return of Frankie Zola but the match came too early for a return to action for the injured Tom Hope.

But Zola’s presence in attack could do little to temper the impressive start from the hosts as they looked to get their season up and running.

The opener came on seven minutes when Danny Sammon was adjudged to have fouled the Armthorpe winger inside the box and the referee pointed to the spot. Stuart Preston stepped up and drilled the hosts ahead.

Things got worse for Nostell just three minutes later when a teasing Armthorpe cross found Ben Muirhead, who planted his header into the back of the net to double Armthorpe’s lead.

Alan Colquhoun’s men started to settle into the game as the half progressed but Armthorpe continued to call the tune up until half-time and fully deserved their two-goal cushion.

The visitors needed to show big improvements in the second half and they started well. Danny Critchlow was put through on goal as Nostell showed more invention in their attack but he was pulled up for offside.

Chances fell at both ends but Nostell set up a grandstand finish with eleven minutes to go when Williams marked his return from a 12 month absence with Nostell’s first goal of the season.

But Nostell could not steal a late point and were left to contemplate back-to-back defeats to open their season.

Nostell: L McGrath, D Sammon, W Ball, G O’Gara (Capt), M Patterson, D Rushton, N Connelly, D Clitchlow, J Jagger, F Zola, R Williams.