Lancaster names England squad for Six Nations clash with Ireland

Stuart Lancaster
Stuart Lancaster
Share this article

ENGLAND boss Stuart Lancaster has made one change to the starting team for Saturday’s final RBS Six Nations match against Ireland at Twickenham.

Saracens’ David Strettle has recovered from his sternum injury and takes over from Gloucester’s Charlie Sharples on the left wing, while on the bench Bath’s Lee Mears comes in for Rob Webber of London Wasps, who injured a shoulder against France.

Lancaster said: “It seems like yesterday when we got together in Leeds in January and began a new journey for England rugby.

“Graham, Andy and myself firmly believe in this group of players and the direction we are going.

“Saturday is another step on that road and we are looking forward to coming home to a packed Twickenham with its special atmosphere and crowd.

“Their support has been phenomenal and we hope we can do the whole nation proud again.

Lancaster ‘trusts in his ability’ as RFU prepares to name England boss

England squad: 15 Ben Foden (Northampton), 14 Chris Ashton (Northampton), 13 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester), 12 Brad Barritt (Saracens), 11 David Strettle (Saracens), 10 Owen Farrell (Saracens), 9 Lee Dickson (Northampton), 1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), 2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton), 3 Dan Cole (Leicester), 4 Mouritz Botha (Saracens), 5 Geoff Parling (Leicester), 6 Tom Croft (Leicester), 7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt), 8 Ben Morgan (Scarlets). Replacements: 16 Lee Mears (Bath), 17 Matt Stevens (Saracens), 18 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais), 19 Phil Dowson (Northampton), 20 Ben Youngs (Leicester), 21 Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), 22 Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Read tomorrow’s Wakefield Express for more of the latest rugby union news.