Lancaster names England team for Six Nations clash with Scotland

Stuart Lancaster
Stuart Lancaster

ENGLAND boss Stuart Lancaster has named three new caps in the starting team to face Scotland in Saturday’s RBS Six Nations opener at Murrayfield.

Saracens Brad Barritt and Owen Farrell will form a new centre pairing at international level while Northampton Saints’ Phil Dowson makes his debut at number eight.

Five more uncapped players will be on the replacements’ bench, Rob Webber (London Wasps), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Ben Morgan (Scarlets), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints) and Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins).

Former Wakefield RFC player Lancaster has spoken to the Wakefield Express this week in the build-up to the big game and believes that his team will need to match Scotland’s intensity at Murrayfield.

Click here for Lancaster’s preview of the Scotland game

England: 15 Ben Foden (Northampton), 14 Chris Ashton (Northampton), 13 Brad Barritt (Saracens), 12 Owen Farrell (Saracens), 11 David Strettle (Saracens), 10 Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), 9 Ben Youngs (Leicester), 1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), 2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton), 3 Dan Cole (Leicester), 4 Mouritz Botha (Saracens), 5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais), 6 Tom Croft (Leicester), 7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt), 8 Phil Dowson (Northampton). Replacements: 16 Rob Webber (Wasps), 17 Matt Stevens (Saracens), 18 Geoff Parling (Leicester), 19 Ben Morgan (Scarlets), 20 Lee Dickson (Northampton), 21 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), 22 Mike Brown (Harlequins).

Charlie Sharples (Gloucester) and Joe Marler (Harlequins) will travel as reserves

Read tomorrow’s Wakefield Express for more on our exclusive interview with Stuart Lancaster.