Former Wakefield Wildcats stars named in England squads

Wakefield Wildcats logo
Wakefield Wildcats logo

FORMER Wakefield Trinity Wildcats players Ben Westwood, Danny Brough and Dale Ferguson have been named in the Elite Training Squad (ETS) and England Knights squad announced today, Tuesday.

Coach Steve McNamara revealed his 32-man ETS and 24-man Knights squads that will form the nucleus of the national team between now and the Rugby League World Cup in 2013.

The ETS squad includes 19 players who were involved in the 2011 Gillette Four Nations and eight players who are uncapped by England, including Catalan Dragons’ Torquay-born hooker Ian Henderson who has been in outstanding form this season in the Stobart Super League.

There is also a return to the England squad for Wigan Warriors forward Gareth Hock, who last played on the international stage in June 2009 when England defeated France 66-12 in Paris.

The ETS players will meet up at their Loughborough base next week alongside the England Knights squad and there will be a further four camps throughout this year including a 10-day high altitude camp in the autumn.

England will start their 2012 campaign with two matches against the Exiles in the summer and an international triangular series in the autumn against European counterparts France and Wales.

England Knights will play Ireland in June and will join Ireland, Italy and Scotland in the Alitalia Cup in the autumn.

England ETS squad: Carl Ablett (Leeds Rhinos), Ryan Bailey (Leeds Rhinos), Chris Bridge (Warrington Wolves), Tom Briscoe (Hull FC), Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants), Rob Burrow (Leeds Rhinos), Garreth Carvell (Warrington Wolves), Josh Charnley (Wigan Warriors), Rangi Chase (Castleford Tigers), Eorl Crabtree (Huddersfield Giants), Leroy Cudjoe (Huddersfield Giants), Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos), Zak Hardaker (Leeds Rhinos), Ian Henderson (Catalan Dragons), Gareth Hock (Wigan Warriors), Ben Jones-Bishop (Leeds Rhinos), Jamie Jones-Buchanan (Leeds Rhinos), Jonny Lomax (St Helens), Danny McGuire (Leeds Rhinos), Michael McIlorum (Wigan Warriors), Adrian Morley (Warrington Wolves), Lee Mossop (Wigan Warriors), Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors), Jamie Peacock (captain) (Leeds Rhinos), James Roby (St Helens), Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos), Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors), Kallum Watkins (Leeds Rhinos), Kris Welham (Hull KR), Ben Westwood (Warrington Wolves), Jon Wilkin (St Helens), Kirk Yeaman (Hull FC).

England Knights squad: Joe Arundel (Castleford Tigers), Jodie Broughton (Salford City Reds), Chris Clarkson (Leeds Rhinos), Paul Clough (St Helens), Mike Cooper (Warrington Wolves), Rhys Evans (Warrington Wolves), Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors), Dale Ferguson (Huddersfield Giants), Mark Flanagan (St Helens), Lee Gaskell (St Helens), Josh Hodgson (Hull KR), Danny Houghton (Hull FC), Shaun Lunt (Huddersfield Giants), Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants), Richie Myler (Warrington Wolves), Larne Patrick (Huddersfield Giants), Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves), Chris Riley (Warrington Wolves), Matty Smith (Salford City Reds), Scott Taylor (Hull KR), Liam Watts (Hull KR), Joe Wardle (Huddersfield Giants), Gary Wheeler (St Helens), Elliot Whitehead (Bradford Bulls).

Read Friday’s Wakefield Express for more of the latest rugby league news.