Wakefield quintet in England Youth Squad

editorial image

A quintet of young Wakefield rugby league players have been selected for the England Youth Squad to take on France in a two-test Easter series.

England coach Dave Elliott has named a 31-man squad for the Easter matches, which also includes a clash with Wales, and the Wakefield district is well represented.

Westgate Wolves trio Jacob Ware, Jordan Crowther and Will Gledhill have made the squad, as have Stanley Rangers player Max Jowitt and Normanton Knights player Morgan Smith.

Crowther and Jowitt are both on the books of Wakefield Trinity Wildcats while Ware and Smith are at Leeds Rhinos and Gledhill is part of the youth set-up at Huddersfield Giants.

“The squad we have selected is very strong and that’s a reflection of the great work that is being done at scholarship level at all the clubs,” said Elliott.

“We have some very talented players in this group, but the lads will need to work well as a team and make sure they are in the correct mental state if we’re going to win the series.”

The five Wakefield players will hope to be involved in both games against France and the Wakefield public will get the chance to see them in action, with the second match taking place at Wakefield’s Rapid Solicitors Stadium on Tuesday, April 2.

The first game will take place at Bradford’s Provident Stadium on Friday, March 29 and England will also take on Wales Youth on Friday, April 5.

England Youth Squad: Aaron Smith (St Helens, Blackbrook), Ash Goulding (Leeds Rhinos, Stanningley), Brad Harrison (Hull FC, Skirlaugh Bulls), Brad Parker (Hull FC, East Hull), Charlie Pythian (Warrington Wolves, Latchford Albion), Daniel Douglas (Leeds Rhinos, Drighlington), Frazer Morris (Huddersfield Giants, St Josephs Sharks), Harry Tyson Wilson (Hull FC, West Hull), Harvey Livett (Warrington Wolves, Rylands Sharks), Issac Noi (Wigan Warriors, Ince Rose Bridge), Jack Etchells (Wigan Warriors, Oldham St Annes), Jack Rush (Wigan Warriors, Rochdale Mayfield), Jack Wells (Wigan Warriors, Folly Lane), Jacob Ware (Leeds Rhinos, Westgate Wolves), Jake Campbell (St Helens, Blackbrook), Jake Moore (Wigan Warriors, Wath Brow Hornets), James Brown (Castleford Tigers, Castleford Lock Lane), Jordan Crowther (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Westgate Wolves), Jordan Lane (Hull FC, West Hull), Kameron Pearce Paul (London Broncos, Croydon Hurricanes), Lewis Fairhurst (St Helens, Hindley), Liam Cooper (St Helens, Blackbrook), Liam Johnson (Huddersfield Giants, Newsome Panthers), Max Jowitt (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Stanley Rangers), Morgan Smith (Leeds Rhinos, Normanton Knights), Reece Brunt (Warrington Wolves, Latchford Albion), Roshane Johnson (London Broncos, Medway Dragons), Ryan Haughton (Wigan Warriors, Blackbrook), Ryan Ince (Widnes Vikings, Widnes Moorfield), Sam Hallas (Leeds Rhinos, Stanningley), Will Gledhill (Huddersfield Giants, Wakefield Westgate).