Wakefield Trinity Wildcats ease to five-try victory over London Broncos

editorial image

Wakefield Trinity Wildcats made it back-to-back Super League wins thanks to a comprehensive 28-0 victory over London Broncos at Twickenham Stoop.

Richard Agar’s men ran in five unanswered tries to seal an impressive victory and make amends for last season’s 36-0 loss against the Broncos in the capital.

Winger Ben Cockayne continued his top try-scoring form with a brace, making it five tries in two matches, while skipper Danny Kirmond, Peter Fox and Richie Mathers also crossed the whitewash.

The clean sheet will also be a big positive for Wildcats, especially after being ‘nilled’ for the only time last season at the Stoop.

Agar made just one change to his matchday squad, with Chris Annakin given the nod to replace Frankie Mariano on the interchange bench.

Wildcats stuck with the same starting line-up that defeated Hull KR at the Rapid Solicitors Stadium last time out and the visitors certainly took that winning momentum with them down the M1.

It took just one minute for Wakefield to get on the scoresheet when Cockayne touched down for the opening score, building on his hat-trick against former club Rovers. Paul Sykes converted the kick against a former club of his own.

There was no opening of the try floodgates, however, as neither side managed to add to the scoresheet for the rest of the first half.

Justin Poore knocked-on with the line at his mercy, while Mathers was held up on the line and Andy Raleigh also came close as the visitors had the best of the ball and position but could not add to their tally.

Wildcats made a rapid start to the first half and did the same in the second as Sykes kicked over a penalty before converting a try from Kirmond as the visitors took control.

Reece Lyne helped put Cockayne over for his second try before Dean Collis assisted Fox’s try and Mathers dived over to complete a good day at the office for Richard Agar and his men.

Broncos: Robertson, O’Callaghan, Hurst, Lovell, Dixon, Witt, Gower, Kaufusi, Randall, Wheeldon, Rodney, Cook. Subs: Bryant, Krasniqi, Lee, Melling.

Wildcats: Mathers, Fox, Collis, Lyne, Cockayne, Sykes, T Smith, Poore, Aiton, Raleigh, Lauitiiti, Kirmond, Washbrook. Subs: Wood, Amor, Wilkes, Annakin.

Referee: Phil Bentham.