Who will be crowned Sports Personality of the Year 2016?

The shortlist of nominations for this year's BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards has been revealed - so who do you think will take the sought after title?

Tuesday, 29th November 2016, 4:04 pm
Updated Tuesday, 6th December 2016, 3:41 pm
Could triathlete Alistair Brownlee be crowned Sports Personality of the Year 2016?

Boxer Nicola Adams, triathlete Alistair Brownlee, and parasport athlete Kedeena Cox, all from Leeds feature among the 16 contenders.

They have been put forward by a panel consisting of media representatives and sports stars including former footballer Ryan Giggs and cyclist Victoria Pendleton.

Scotsman Andy Murray, the tennis world number one, is tipped to scoop the prize after winning Wimbledon for the second time, an Olympic Gold Medal and becoming the World’s best by beating Novak Djokovic in two sets.

Hot on his heels though, will be Alistair Brownlee who impressed the panel after retaining his Olympic title.

But he also won the hearts of the entire nation after hitting the headlines for helping ailing brother Jonny over the finish line at a Triathlon World Series race in Mexico in September.

Cox, who suffered a stroke and was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis two years ago, became the first British Paralympian to win golds in multiple sports at the same Games in over 30 years, also taking a bronze too.

This summer, Adams became the first British boxer to successfully defend their Olympic title for 92 years and also became a world champion.

In total there are 13 gold medallists from the Rio 2016 Olympics and Paralympics are included on an extended shortlist, up from 12 nominations for both the 2012 and 2015 awards.

The three non-Olympians or Paralympians to be nominated are footballers Gareth Bale and Jamie Vardy, and Masters golf champion Danny Willett.

Vardy and Willett both hail from Sheffield.

The full list is: Nicola Adams (boxing); Gareth Bale (football); Alistair Brownlee (triathlon); Sophie Christiansen (equestrian); Kadeena Cox (athletics/cycling); Mo Farah (athletics); Jason Kenny (cycling); Laura Kenny (cycling); Andy Murray (tennis); Adam Peaty (swimming); Kate Richardson-Walsh (hockey); Nick Skelton (equestrian); Dame Sarah Storey (cycling); Jamie Vardy (football); Max Whitlock (gymnastics); Danny Willett (golf).

The ceremony takes place on December 18.