Lord Sugar joins in Twitter talk about Wakefield Business Awards

Lord Alan Sugar took to Twitter to congratulate former The Apprentice star Claire Young on winning Business Person of the Year at Wakefield Business Awards.

Claire was one of ten winners at last night’s ceremony at Unity Hall.

The fifth annual event, organised by the Wakefield Express, celebrated the flourishing businesses across the city who have not only provided great customer service and products, but also created jobs for the community and helped to boost the local economy.

Radio personality Jon Hammond presented the awards in front of a crowd of more than 200 local businessmen and women.

The categories and winners were as follows:

New Business of the Year sponsored by Haribo

Winner: 6B Digital

Shortlisted: Topic UK, Inspiring Skills

International Business of the Year sponsored by HSBC

Winner: SoftSols Group

Shortlisted: AHC, M2R

Business and the Environment sponsored by Chadwick Lawrence

Winner: Crompton Controls

Shortlisted: Free Green Energy Solutions Ltd

People Make Performance sponsored by Crompton Controls

Winner: Elizabeth Kay of Wakefield Council

Shortlisted: Melenie Tudor of En Route Hair and Beauty

Employee of the Year sponsored by First Choice Recruitment

Winner: Emma Newby of Beaumont Legal

Shortlisted: Beth Hilton of Ramsden Solicitors, Nathan Waters of Unity Works, Daniel Kreigers of Chadwick Lawrence, Jordan Robertson of Room 97

Small to Medium Sized Business of the Year sponsored by YPO

Winner: Optalysys Ltd

Shortlisted: Crompton Controls, Perseus Trading Co

Community Enterprise Award sponsored by Wakefield First

Winner: St Catherine’s Church

Shortlisted: Anne Wainwright of McDonald’s Franchise, School Speakers

Innovation in Business Award sponsored by Copiserv

Winner: AHC

Shortlisted: Cars on Demand, 365 Response, Inspiring Skills

Business of the Year sponsored by Juice Personnel

Winner: Chadwick Lawrence

Highly commended: Kingston Friendly Society

Shortlisted: Key Security, YPO, Crompton Controls

Business Person of the Year sponsored by Thornton Jones, a judges’ choice category

Winner: Claire Young

Guests took to Twitter throughout the night to celebrate their achievements. We have included a round up of some of the best.