Greg Walton leads West Bretton to first win of season in Pontefract League

An unbeaten 61 from Greg Walton carried West Bretton to their first win of the new season in Division One of the Pontefract League.

By Tony Harber
Wednesday, 28th April 2021, 8:00 am
West Bretton's Chris Degnan, who took 2-43 against Hatfield.
West Bretton's Chris Degnan, who took 2-43 against Hatfield.

Chasing Hatfield Town’s 139 score, Bretton cruised home with eight wickets to spare as Walton struck 10 boundaries and support came from George Naylor (37no) and Luke Smith (24).

Hatfield’s innings never really got going against some good bowling from Jonny Winwood (4-27), Anthony Scully (3-47) and Chris Degnan (2-43).

Crofton Phoenix suffered a second defeat as they were all out for 108 to lose their Division One game by 179 runs at Ackworth. Abdul Sami top scored with 29 and also took 3-45.

Streethouse also followed their opening day loss with another as they went down by 338 runs at Fairburn.

After the hosts amassed 439-2, Streethouse were all out for 101 with Joe Raynor (28no) top scoring.

In Division Two Nostell St Oswald went down by 100 runs at Kippax as they were bowled out for 182. Tokir Bashir (4-84) and Lincoln Steele (54) were their best performers.

Danny Bullock hit 31 and Jase Ball 30, but Old Sharlston were all out for 144 to lose by 52 runs to Glasshoughton. Streethouse seconds were shot out for 97 as they were beaten by 246 runs against Oulton.

Pledwick came out on top by six wickets as they chased down Calder Grove’s 126 score in Division Three with Jonathan Banks hitting 68no and Tommy Hyde 43no. Alex Brown (50) top scored for Grove.

Notton were bowled out for 83 as they fell 107 runs short at Barnby Dun.

Brett Russell, with 5-49, did well with the ball as Barnby Dun were dismissed for 190 with Joe Grove taking 3-38.

Horbury Bridge also struggled with the bat as they were shot out for 80 in reply to Stainborough’s 167-9.

Sam Perkin claimed 3-34 in vain while Andrew Waterson took 2-18.

Chris Colley (7-25) and Samuel Foxy (3-31) bowled Newton Hill to an 164-run victory at home to Thurnscoe Institute.

Thurnscoe were all out for 62 in reply to a 226 total that included contributions from Ben Hughes (59), Gary Wilcock (36) and Ali Asim (29).

Despite 25 each from James White and skipper Nick Finnigan, Denby Grange fell well short as they were dismissed for 99 to lose by 76 runs to Garforth.

In Garforth’s innings of 175 all out, Finnigan took 4-27 and Andrew Walker 3-49.

Normanton St John’s made it two wins from two in Division Five as they eased to a five-wicket success at home to Askern Welfare seconds.

Suleman Rayat (58) led the response after Askern had been kept to 146-9 with Ricky Crossley taking 4-21 and two wickets each for Kumar Gadhraj and Rayat.

In Division Six, Crigglestone edged home by two wickets at Nostell St Oswald seconds.

Daniel Kenefec (29no) brought them home after Kabir Bisht hit 34 as Crigglestone passed Nostell’s 130-8 score despite three wickets each from Matthew Mitchell and Stuart Carter.

In Nostell’s innings, Craig Bond contributed 68, including seven fours, while Kenefec (2-14) was the most successful bowler.