Pontefract Cricket League: Disappointing opening day for Streethouse, Crofton Phoenix and West Bretton

Wakefield area clubs had a poor start to the new cricket season in Division One of the Pontefract League with defeats for Streethouse, Crofton Phoenix and West Bretton.

By Tony Harber
Thursday, 22nd April 2021, 8:00 am
Pontefract Cricket League round-up.
Pontefract Cricket League round-up.

Streethouse were up against newly promoted Hundhill Hall and were well beaten as they were dismissed for 119 in reply to 217-9. Asad Bukhari battled to make 40no while Amjad Ali hit 30 and there were three wickets each for Aamir Siddique and Amjad Hussain, but it was Hall hitting the ground running.

Crofton Phoenix could only muster 45 to lose by 173 runs to Hemsworth MW, who made 218, with Akhlaq Mehmood taking 4-39.

Chris Reece took 4-66 and Anthony Scully 3-53 for West Bretton, but they fell 85 runs short in their chase of 223 against Ackworth despite 49no from George Naylor.

Nostell St Oswald lost by 51 runs to Pollington in their opening Division Two game.

After bowling out Pollington for 155 with Aakash Dutta taking 4-24 and Matthew Thompson 3-25, Nostell were all out for 104, Paul Dalby (35) top scoring.

Old Sharlston went down by five wickets after being bowled out for 139 in their Division Two match against Knottingley Town.

After electing to bat first only Thomas Murray (46no) was able to make much impact for Sharlston.

Ben Brown (4-31), Alex Brown (3-20) and Thomas Buxton (2-35) bowled Calder Grove to a 26-run win at home to Stainborough in Division Three.

They were able to defend a 157 total, which included knocks of 47 by Ben Brown and 30 from Josh Buxton.

Also in Division Three, Pledwick came out on top by six wickets at Notton.

Jonathan Habe top scored with 32 as Notton totalled 166 after being put in. Pledwick’s winning reply was led by Jonathan Banks (77).

Despite 55 from Russell Harris and 40 by Ben Hughes and a solid 175 total, Newton Hill lost by nine wickets to Ackworth seconds.

Electing to bat first did not work out for Horbury Bridge as they lost by nine wickets to Fenwick after only being able to score 105 with Andrew Waterson (29) top scoring.

Old Sharlston seconds made 162-8 and lost by seven wickets at Thurnscoe Institute. Michael Harwood (33no) top scored.

Muhammad Akram (3-14) and Raees Matloob Raja (3-15) helped Crofton Phoenix seconds to an opening day 84-run victory over Denby Grange.

Chasing a 160 total, Grange were all out for 76 with Craig Murphy (28) top scoring. Ahsan Mir (40) and Abdul Sami (31) were the leading runmakers in Crofton's innings.

Three wickets each from Vipin Reddy and Suleman Rayat helped Normanton St Johns to make a winning start in Division Five as they kept Featherstone Town to 98-8 then reached their target with nine wickets to spare.

Kumar Gadhraj (55no) and Ebrahim Patel (32no) led the winning reply.

Wakefield Thornes thirds were edged out in a close contest with Rothwell seconds.

Batting first, Thornes made 112 with Zaryab Khan (24) top scoring. Rothwell batsmen also struggled, but they scraped home with two wickets to spare despite the efforts of Abdullah Asim (2-22), Saqlain Shahzad (2-26) and Narinder Reehal (2-17).

West Bretton seconds fell an agonising six runs short in their run chase against Burton Salmon.

After their opponents made 167-7, with Chris Williams taking 3-43, Bretton took the game down to the final over, but finished on 161-7. Lee Matthews (47) and Keith Whitehouse (33) top scored.

A thrilling local derby saw Pledwick seconds edge out Nostell St Oswalds seconds by one wicket in Division Six.

Paul Hanks (23no) hit the winning runs while there were other valuable contributions in Pledwick's effort by Reuben Sleight (39), David Cocliff (34), Steve Cockell (33) and Robert Rao (21).

Mick Lees and Stuart Carter took three wickets each for Nostell, who made 178-6 after being put in. Their top scorers were Craig Bond (42), Sam Dewhirst (38no), Morgan Whelan (36) and Sam Eastwood (28).

Despite 33 from Nathan Ward, Crigglestone were only able to total 122 as they lost their first game of the season by seven wickets to Thorpe Audlin.

Simon Buckley (25no) and Luke Speight (25) brought Ryhill & Havercroft home for a five-wicket success at Whitley Bridge seconds, who were kept to 109-9 with Richard Boldy taking 3-26.

A five-wicket haul from Matthew Cappleman paved the way for an opening day win in Division Seven for Denby Grange seconds.

Opponents Balby Recreation were shot out for 75 with Cappleman taking 5-16 and Joel Dickinson 3-11. Grange then sailed home with nine wickets to spare, Scott Drury hitting 43 and Joseph Williamson 27no.

Thomas Rogers (4-19), Glenn Swindell (3-19) and Brett Hinchcliffe (2-21) bowled Horbury Bridge seconds to a three-wicket success at home to Hensall seconds. Mick Mountain (49) top scored in the winning reply.

Calder Grove seconds lost by three runs despite bowling Ferrybridge Power Station seconds out for 83 with Robert Cleasby Price taking 3-12, Scott Reyner 3-15 and Fasil Majid 2-21.

Despite knocks of 55 from Richard Briggs and 36 by Mathew Charlton, Notton seconds' innings fell away as they were all out for 126 to lose by 60 runs to Glasshoughton seconds.

Normanton St Johns seconds were well beaten by six wickets after being skittled out for 67 against Barnby Dun seconds.