Wakefield Council give their backing to Featherstone Rovers' Super League bid

Wakefield Council leader Denise Jeffery has backed Featherstone Rovers' bid to become the 12th club in Super League next season.

Friday, 27th November 2020, 1:40 pm
Updated Sunday, 29th November 2020, 10:33 am
Post Office Road, home of Featherstone Rovers. Picture: Allan McKenzie/SWpix.com.

The Wakefield district is rich in rugby league history, already boasting two top-flight sides in Castleford Tigers and Wakefield Trinity.

Featherstone were a top-flight club until the formation of Super League but have never returned to the top flight. Trinity regained a place in 1998 and have not looked back since.

Jeffrey wrote a letter of support to Rovers, who have applied to fill the vacant slot in Super League after Toronto Wolfpack were not readmitted after dropping out midway through the 2020 season.

Sign up to our daily Wakefield Express Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Wakefield Council leader Denise Jeffrey. Picture: John Clifton.

"Featherstone Rovers has continued to develop with great success on the pitch, (including reaching the Grand Final against Toronto in 2019), and have equally made great progress in stadium improvements too," wrote Coun Denise Jeffery.

"The improvements to the ground and stadium are certainly up to Super League status.

"Clearly, we value the economic impact which rugby league brings to the wider district as a spectator sport and the opportunity the clubs provide for new players to excel and perform on world class stages.

"However, we are particularly proud of the wider impact of the high performance Featherstone Rovers have had on their community through the engagement of families and children, helping to inspire young people to be active and develop skills for life.

"We would be thrilled to see Featherstone Rovers reach Super League; with the Rugby League World Cup taking place in England in 2021, what an exciting year to join too."

Clubs have until Monday to finalise their applications with a decision expected on December 16. Lord Jonathan Caine will chair a seven-strong panel, further made up by three members from the RFL and three from Super League, that will make the decision.

York City Knights, Bradford Bulls, Leigh Centurions, Toulouse Olympique and London Broncos are also expected to apply.