Promotion and relegation format confirmed for Betfred Championship and League One

The top-six teams in the Betfred Championship and League One this season will be in contention for promotion, the RFL have confirmed.

Thursday, 4th March 2021, 4:36 pm
Featherstone were beaten at Toronto in the 2019 Championship Million Pound Game. Picture by Vaughn Ridley/

The Championship, which kicks off over the Easter weekend and includes Featherstone Rovers, Batley Bulldogs and Dewsbury Rams, will adopt the same system used in Betfred Super League last year.

That means the top-two in the final table will secure a bye through the first round of the play-offs, when the third-placed side are at home to the team in sixth and fifth visits fourth.

In the semi-finals, the lowest ranked winners from round one will travel to the league leaders, with the other survivors away to the table runners-up.

The semi-finals victors will meet in the Million Pound Game to determine promotion to Super League in 2022.

Play-offs will be staged from September 25 to October 10.

The winners of League One which includes Hunslet, will be promoted automatically.

Teams finishing second to sixth go into play-offs for the other promotion place.

The four-week series will begin on September 18-19.

Clubs in both divisions will need to play 70 per cent of their league fixtures to qualify for play-offs.

The bottom two teams in the Betfred Championship will be relegated, however many games they have played. This year’s league tables will be decided on win percentage, as Super League was last season.