Sir Bradley Wiggins confirmed to ride in Tour de Yorkshire

Sir Bradley Wiggins’ participation in the first ever Tour de Yorkshire has been confirmed.

By Mike Muncaster
Monday, 20th April 2015, 12:01 pm
Bradley Wiggins
Bradley Wiggins

The four-time Olympic champion will ride at the helm of his new UK based Team Wiggins.

Mr Wiggins, the 2012 Tour de France winner, was not selected in Team SKY’s 2014 squad for the race when it began in Yorkshire.

Marcel Kittel, who won the opening stage of the Tour de France in Harrogate last summer, will also compete in the Tour de Yorkshire.

Sign up to our daily Wakefield Express Today newsletter

Two-time Olympic track champion Ed Clancy, from Huddersfield, rides for JLT-Condor and Rotherham’s Ben Swift will lead Team SKY.

Starting on Friday, May 1 the Tour de Yorkshire takes place in three stages and the final stage will start in Wakefield on Sunday, May 3.

Stage one will begin in Bridlington and finishes in Scarborough.

Stage two will start in Selby and finish in York, while the third stage begins in Wakefield and will finish in Leeds.

The riders confirmed for the race are:

Sky: Ben Swift (Yorkshire), Andy Fenn, Peter Kennaugh (R), Ian Stannard (R)

Cult Energy Pro Cycling: Russ Downing (Yorkshire)

MTN-Qhubeka: Steve Cummings

Team Wiggins: Bradley Wiggins, Owain Doull, John Dibben, Steven Burke, Mark Christian, Chris Lawless, Daniel Patten, Andy Tennant, Iain Paton (R), Michael Thompson (R)

Great Britain: Germain Burton, Gabriel Cullaigh (Yorkshire), Josh Edmondson (Yorkshire, R), Scott Davies, Matthew Gibson, Jake Kelly, Chris Latham, Mark Stewart, Oliver Wood (Yorkshire, R), Grant Ferguson, Tao Geoghegan-Hart (R)

JLT Condor: Ed Clancy (Yorkshire), Kristian House, Graham Briggs (Yorkshire), Mike Cumming, Luke Greivell-Mellor, Richard Handley, Tom Moses (Yorkshire), Joseph Moses (Yorkshire, R), Harry Tanfield (Yorkshire, R)

Madison Genesis: Erick Rowsell, Tom Scully, Matt Cronshaw, Liam Holohan, James McLaughlin, Mark McNally, Tom Stewart, Matt Holmes (R), Tobyn Horton (R), Dom Jelfs (R)

ONE Pro Cycling: Yanto Barker, Pete Williams, George Atkins, George Harper, Josh Hunt, Jon Mould, Chris Opie, Thomas Bayliss (R) Dexter Gardias (R), Sam Williams

NFTO: Tom Barras, Ian Bibby, Sam Harrison, James Lowsley-Williams, Jonny McEvoy, Robert Partridge, Dale Appleby (R), Edmund Bradbury (R), Rhys Lloyd (R), Zachary May (R)

Team Raleigh GAC: Steve Lampier, Ian Wilkinson, Samual Lowe, Bradley Morgan, Evan Oliphant, Ian Wilkinson, Andrew Hawdon (R)