These are all of the MPs who voted against England’s second national lockdown

MPs voted yesterday (4 Nov) to back a four week long lockdown in England, which comes into force today, until 2 December.

The vote saw a rebellion from 34 Conservative MPs, with the government winning 516 to 39, due to support from a majority of opposition MPs.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

A significant number of MPs, including former Prime Minister Theresa May, abstained on the vote, meaning they chose not to support the government but not to actively vote against them.

A three hour long debate preceded the vote, which saw contributions from a number of MPs who were highly critical of the lockdown plan.

Theresa May said, “The evidence is, from Liverpool, that cases are falling. For many people it looks as if the figures are chosen to support the policy rather than the policy being based on the figures.”

Conservative MP Philip Davies said those who vote for the lockdown are “expecting millions of others in our country to sacrifice their jobs to pursue this policy.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He added, “I never thought I would see the day a so-called Conservative minister would stand up and urge Parliament to further sacrifice our most basic of freedoms, collapse the economy and destroy jobs - all to pursue a failed strategy.”

Here’s a full list of all the MPs who voted against or abstained on the Health Protection (Coronavirus Restrictions) Act .

Voted against lockdown

Adam Afriyie -Windsor (Conservative)Peter Bone - Welingborough (Conservative)Graham Brady - Altrincham and Sale West (Conservative)Steve Brine - Winchester (Conservative)Christopher Chope - Christchurch (Conservative)Philip Davies - Shipley (Conservative)Jonathan Djanogly - Huntingdon (Conservative)Jackie Doyle-Price - THurrock (Conservative)Richard Drax - South Dorset (Conservative)Iain Duncan Smith - Leigh (Conservative)Marcus Fysh - Yeovil (Conservative)Chris Green - Bolton West (Conservative)James Grundy - Leigh (Conservative)Mark Harper - Forest of Dean (Conservative)Gordon Henderson - Sittingbourne and Sheppey (Conservative)David Jones - Clwyd West (Conservative)Tim Loughton - East Worthing and Shoreham (Conservative)Craig Mackinlay - South Thanet (Conservative)Stephen Mcpartland -Stevenage (Conservative)Esther Mcvey - Tatton (Conservative)Huw Merriman - Bexhill and Battle (Conservative)Anne Marie Morris - Newton Abbot (Conservative)Mike Penning - Hemel Hempstead (Conservative)John Redwood - Wokingham (Conservative)Andrew Rosindell - Romford (Conservative)Henry Smith - Crawley (Conservative)Desmond Swayne - New Forest West (Conservative)Robert Syms - Poole (Conservative)Derek Thomas - St Ives (Conservative)Charles Walker - Broxbourne (Conservative)Craig Whittaker - Calder Valley (Conservative)William Wragg - Hazel Grove (Conservative)Julian Lewis - New Forest East (Independent )Paul Girvan - South Antrim (DUP)Carla Lockhart - Upper Bann (DUP)Ian Paisley - North Antrim (DUP)Sanmy Wilson - East Antrim (DUP)

Abstained from vote

Every member of the SNP abstained on the motion as well as the MPs listed below, plus Sinn Fein MP, who do not take part in the Westminster process.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Andrew Bowie - West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine (Conservative)Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown - The Cotswolds (Conservative)James Daly - Bury North (Conservative)David Duguid - Banf and Buchan (Conservative)Mike Freer - Finchley and Golders Green (Conservative)Richard Fuller - North East Bedfordshire (Conservative)Chris Grayling - Epsom and Ewell (Conservative)James Heappey - Wells (Conservative)Tom Hunt - Ipswich (Conservative)Alister Jack - Dumfies and Galloway(Conservative)John Lamont - Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk(Conservative)Theresa May - Maidenhead (Conservative)David Mundell - Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale (Conservative)Robert Neill - Bromley and Chislehurst (Conservative)Rebecca Pow - Taunton Deane (Conservative)Jeremy Quin - Horsham (Conservative)Douglas Ross - Moray (Conservative)Bob Seely -Isle of Wight (Conservative)Will Wiggin - North Herefordshire (Conservative)Gregory Campbell - East Londonderry (DUP)Jeffrey Donaldson - Lagan Valley (DUP)Gavin Robinson - Belfast East (DUP)Jim Shannon - Strangford (DUP)Paul Blomfield - Sheffield Central (Labour)Dan Jarvis - Barnsley Central (Labour)Kevan Jones - North Durham (Labour)Justin Madders - Ellesmere Port and Neston (Labour)Shabana Mahmood - Birmingham Ladywood (Labour)Anna McMorrin - Cardiff North (Labour)John Spellar - Warley (Labour)Graham Stringer - Blackley and Broughton (Labour)Derek Twigg - Halton (Labour)Ben Lake - Ceredigion (Plaid Cymru)Liz Saville Roberts - Dwyfor Meirionnydd (Plaid Cymru)Hywel Williams - Arfon (Plaid Cymru)Nigel Evans (Deputy Speaker)Eleanor Laing (Deputy Speaker)Rosie Winterton (Deputy Speaker)Jonathan Edwards (Independent)Margaret Ferrier (Independent)