Featherstone Rovers' 2021 FULL Championship fixture list revealed

Featherstone Rovers will open their 2021 Championship campaign against West Yorkshire rivals Batley Bulldogs on Easter Weekend.
The 2021 Betfred Championship fixture list has been confirmed: Picture: SWpix.The 2021 Betfred Championship fixture list has been confirmed: Picture: SWpix.
The 2021 Betfred Championship fixture list has been confirmed: Picture: SWpix.

The sides met on the opening day of the 2020 campaign in what was James Webster's first competitive game in charge at the club.

The Betfred Championship season will have 22 rounds of fixtures running until the weekend of September 19, with each of the 14 teams playing nine of the other 13 twice and the other four once.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Summer Bash will not be played in 2021 due to the expectation that fans will only be allowed to return to sporting events in limited capacity.

Following a meeting of Championship and League 1 clubs with the RFL last week, it has been agreed that positions on the league table in each competition will be determined by points percentage, as in the Betfred Super League in 2020.

This is to recognise the likelihood of fixtures being affected by Covid-19, with postponements permitted if a team loses seven or more players for Covid-related reasons – either players with positive tests, or who have been ruled out through test and trace analysis of close contacts in matches or training.

The first option will be for matches to be rearranged on a free date – but if this is not possible, the fixture will be cancelled.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Golden point has also been scrapped over concerns for player welfare with Championship sides out of action for over a year. The system is to be reintroduced in 2022.

Betfred Championship games that are played behind closed doors will be live streamed on the Our League app and website with home season ticket holders given free access to their club’s live stream and all other fans able to watch via pay-per-view.

Some Betfred Challenge Cup games will be live streamed by the BBC and Betfred with others available on Our League.

Featherstone Rovers 2021 Championship fixtures: Round 1, April 2: Featherstone Rovers v Batley Bulldogs. Round 2, April 18: Swinton Lions v Featherstone Rovers. Round 3, April 25: Featherstone Rovers v Whitehaven. Round 4, May 1: Toulouse Olympique v Featherstone Rovers. Round 5, May 9: York City Knights v Featherstone Rovers. Round 6, May 16: Featherstone Rovers v Oldham. Round 7, May 23: Sheffield Eagles v Featherstone Rovers. Round 8 May 30: Halifax Panthers v Featherstone Rovers. Round 9, June 13 Featherstone Rovers v Bradford Bulls. Round 10, June 20: Dewsbury Rams v Featherstone Rovers. Round 11, June 27: Featherstone Rovers v Newcastle Thunder. Round 12, July 4: Featherstone Rovers v London Broncos. Round 13, July 11: Widnes Vikings v Featherstone Rovers. Round 14, July 25: Bradford Bulls v Featherstone Rovers. Round 15, August 1: Featherstone Rovers v Toulouse Olympique. Round 16, August 8: Batley Bulldogs v Featherstone Rovers. Round 17, August 15: Featherstone Rovers v York City Knights. Round 18, August 22: Featherstone Rovers v Dewsbury Rams. Round 19, August 29: Oldham v Featherstone Rovers. Round 20, September 5: Featherstone Rovers v Halifax Panthers. Round 21, September 12: London Broncos v Featherstone Rovers. Round 22, September 19: Featherstone Rovers v Sheffield Eagles.