Dewsbury and Wakefield rugby league stars among the England Women named in National Performance Squad

Home grown rugby league stars are among the 31-strong National Performance Squad named by England Women head coach Craig Richards, with the group set to meet for the first time this year on Saturday, in Leeds.

By Mark Berry
Thursday, 13th January 2022, 9:42 am
Dannielle Anderson in action for Leeds Rhinos
Dannielle Anderson in action for Leeds Rhinos

Wakefield's Dannielle Anderson, Dewsbury's Caitlin Beevers and Georgia Roche, the 2018 Woman of Steel who came through the ranks at Dewsbury Moor, are among those named in the squad as preparations for this year's Rugby League World Cup continue to build.

The trio are among the eight representatives from Leeds Rhinos while 2021 treble-winners St Helens have 12 players included in the squad including reigning Woman of Steel Jodie Cunningham and England captain Emily Rudge.

Four Wigan Warriors players are named in the National Performance Squad while experienced international Shona Hoyle represents Huddersfield Giants.

Craig Richards said: “I’m really pleased to have named our first National Performance Squad in a World Cup year.

“The majority of the players included have been in or around the programme for some time now and I feel we have some real quality amongst the squad.

“It’s great to have been able to add Keara Bennett to the squad after she consistently performed for Leeds throughout 2021. We had several international debutants last season and there are certainly going to be opportunities for players to break into the side before the World Cup.

“We’ve been building towards this World Cup for a number of years now, but we know how crucial our preparations over the next nine months are going to be.”

England Women will begin their Rugby League World Cup campaign against Brazil at Headingley Stadium on Tuesday, November 1. A clash with Canada at Wigan’s DW Stadium on Saturday, November 5 is followed by a final group stage fixture in Leeds against Papua New Guinea on Wednesday, November 9.

Squad: Dannielle Anderson (Leeds Rhinos), Savannah Andrade (York City Knights), Caitlin Beevers (Leeds Rhinos), Keara Bennett (Leeds Rhinos), Leah Burke (St Helens), Chantelle Crowl (St Helens), Jodie Cunningham (St Helens), Hollie Dodd (York City Knights), Grace Field (York City Knights), Kelsey Gentles (York City Knights), Fran Goldthorp (Leeds Rhinos), Rebecca Greenfield (Wigan Warriors), Amy Hardcastle (St Helens), Shona Hoyle (Huddersfield Giants), Amy Johnson (Leeds Rhinos), Tara Jones (St Helens), Chloe Kerrigan (Leeds Rhinos), Emma Lumley (Leeds Rhinos), Vicky Molyneux (Wigan Warriors), Carrie Roberts (St Helens), Georgia Roche (Leeds Rhinos), Emily Rudge (St Helens), Tara Stanley (York City Knights), Beth Stott (St Helens), Rachel Thompson (Wigan Warriors), Paige Travis (St Helens), Vicky Whitfield (St Helens), Naomi Williams (St Helens), Georgia Wilson (Wigan Warriors), Olivia Wood (York City Knights), Rachael Woosey (St Helens).